Albany Trio – The Orchid and its Hunters

Albany Trio – The Orchid and its Hunters

St Michael’s Without


Bath Recitals

Beethoven: Trio in E Flat major, Op.1 No.1
Shostakovich: Trio in C minor, Op.8 No.1
Judith Bingham: The Orchid and its Hunters (2015)
Ravel: Trio in A minor

The Albany Trio’s programme consists of The Orchid and its Hunters by Judith Bingham OBE, a commission the group made in 2015 for International Women’s Day. This piece is bordered by Shostakovich’s Trio Op.8 No.1, and Beethoven’s Trio Op.1 No.1 which are both early works. The programme ends with Ravel’s exceptional Trio composed in 1915, which the composer in his own words finished with “insane heroic rage” before enlisting in military service.