MF15 Alban Gerhardt and Steven Osborne

MF15 Alban Gerhardt and Steven Osborne

The Guildhall, High Street, Bath

£6.00 - £32.00

Alban Gerhardt cello
Steven Osborne piano

Bach Suite No 2 in D minor for solo cello BWV 1008
Beethoven Sonata in E major for piano Op 109
Beethoven Sonata in D major for cello and piano Op 102 No 2
Debussy Sonata for cello and piano
Brahms Sonata No 1 in E minor for cello and piano Op 38

It’s a busy day for the universally admired Scottish pianist Steven Osborne. Before playing a Beethoven concerto this evening, he joins forces with the outstanding German cellist Alban Gerhardt for a morning recital. He even contributes a Beethoven solo sonata to the programme: no modest miniature, either, but the expansive Op 109 which begins the group of three final sonatas. This complements Gerhardt’s opening gambit of one of Bach’s Suites in dance rhythms for solo cello. Together, the two musicians – colleagues in BBC Radio 3’s first ever crop of New Generation Artists in 1999 –
play Beethoven’s explosive D major Sonata, Debussy’s shadowy late Sonata, and Brahms’s Bach-influenced Sonata in E minor.

Supported by John Whibley “Holidays with Music”